Shi Da Pan (10 Foundational Exercises)

 Shi Da Pan 十大盤 (roughly "10 Great Basins" - pronounced Shir Dah Pan) is a set of 10 exercises from the foundational training in the art of Cha Quan, taught to me by my first teacher Dapeng. It is a set that was traditionally one of the first things a beginner in the art would be taught.

The exercises primarily target the legs, and as such they are part of my lower body basics syllabus, although almost every element involves a full body connection which teaches you how to drive the arms with the legs.

If you're a beginner, please do the exercises slowly, and not go as deep into the stretches, and build up over time. This set is intended to be done daily for the first 3 - 6 months of practice, and later be replaced by more difficult sets, however if you're not practicing every day it may take longer. It is likely that you will experience (sometimes severe) delayed onset muscle soreness, and the traditional method is to work through this, however everyone is different so please go at your own pace and rest where necessary to avoid overuse injuries.
0xxk5bsbobzc4and1xqm bg

Craig Mallett

Craig is a student of the Da Xuan tradition of Daoism under Serge Augier and formally the creator of Aware Relaxed Connected.  From 2003 – 2012 Craig studied the arts of Xin Yi Liu He Quan, Cha Quan and Yang style Taiji under his first Teacher Dapeng Wang.  In 2011 he began expanding his education to include gymnastics and gymnastic strength training, various natural/global movement modalities, parkour, strength, conditioning and flexibility, Ancestral Movement and Stretch Therapy. Explorations in these arts lead to Craig creating a Body Awakening syllabus. Craig’s work has now been absorbed by Physical Alchemy and has become an integral part of the Physical Repatterning Work.

Contact Craig:

email ::
facebook ::
Instagram :: @craigmallettdxpa

All programs